Cheese, potato and onion pie

Cheese_potato_onion_pie-horz

I made this the other day. I’ll own up – it was cobbled together from two recipes I found on the web. As I had some potatoes that were rather worse for wear (they were beginning to sprout) and one egg in the fridge, I thought this would do for supper:

  • 700g potatoes (peeled, cubed, boiled and mashed) [500g]
  • 1 onion (chopped and cooked in a little butter until soft)
  • 125g grated cheddar [150g]
  • 1 egg (beaten) [omit]
  • 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • freshly ground black pepper

Add the cooked onion and the cheese to the hot mashed potato and mix well. Then mix in the beaten egg and the mustard. If the mix is too stiff add a little milk.

Place in an ovenproof dish, flatten the top and and make ridges and furrows in the top with a fork.

Bake in the oven at 190C (Gas mark 5) for about 25 minutes.

I served this with baked beans and grilled bacon (carnivorous version) or grilled tomatoes (vegetarian version).

Having eaten it, I came to the conclusion that either it needed fewer potatoes or more cheese (or both), and that the egg seemed to do little for the quality of the dish and could probably be dispensed with. My suggested changes are in square brackets above (not yet tested).

I can imagine that an improved version would be very good on a cold winter’s night!

Leave a Reply

